How to use Model Mayhem privacy options
Model Mayhem is first and foremost a networking site, where members can connect with each other, build professional relationships and collaborate on fantastic artwork. For many members, the goal is to be seen by as many others as possible in the effort to gain attention and make connections in the community.
But some of you may wish to limit the amount of exposure your profiles and portfolios get from certain segments of the community. You may want to separate your modeling life from your life as a teacher, for example. Or you may not want your grandmother to see your nude images. Maybe you’re working on a project and you only want to show the unfinished works to a select handful of people. MM offers a variety of options to help you keep your profile and portfolio images private.
Please keep in mind that these options are not foolproof. MM can’t guarantee that something protected by a privacy setting will never be seen by someone you don’t want to see it. The surest way to keep your name, images and other information from being seen on the Internet is not to post it on the Internet in the first place.
Also keep in mind that while you can set privacy on your own profile and portfolio, you can’t change that for other members or the rest of the site. So, if you post in a public area such as the forums or casting calls, what you write will be visible. Or, if another member lists you as a “credit” on their profile, your name and MM# may be visible.
So what are the options? There are:
- Profile Privacy
- M Image Privacy
- Album Privacy
This is the easiest way to limit the connection of your modeling life to your personal life. If you don’t want your real name connected with your MM profile, simply use a pseudonym or stage name for your profile. This applies to all areas of the site, your name, your custom MM URL and your communications with other members.
Other identifying information can also be used to connect your MM profile to your life outside MM, such as email addresses and phone numbers. By posting those in public areas of the site, not only are you inviting scammers and spammers to contact you, it makes it easier for search engines to associate your MM profile with you. If you don’t want that to happen, don’t post your personal information.
With this setting you can make your entire profile private. This includes both your profile page and your portfolio (but again, what you post outside of those areas will be visible to others).
There are three options for Profile Privacy:
- Block Search Engines
- Members Only
This means that anyone can view your profile, including members, non-members and search engines like Google.
Block Search Engines
When you choose the Block Search Engines option, a bit of code is added to your profile that tells search engines to go away and ignore your page. Any human (both members and non-members) can see your profile.
With this setting, only members logged into active profiles will see your profile. If you log out and try to look at your profile, you will see a message that says, “OMG you are not allowed …. Please Login to view this profile.” Neither search engines nor non-members will be able to view your profile.
In addition, if a non-member tries to search for you using the Browse feature, your profile will not be displayed in those results. Your profile does come up when a member uses the Browse feature to find you.
M (18+) Image Privacy
Each MM member has the option to hide their “M” (sometimes referred to as “18+”) images from non-members. Typically this is used to hide your images that depict nudity, violence, drug use or bondage. [Read the full rules on what must be marked “M” here.]
When non-members try to view an M image in your portfolio with this setting on, they get a message saying, “Image Not Viewable By Non-Members.”
This is a new feature available to VIP and Premium members. It allows members to choose who can view individual custom albums in their portfolios. From your Organize Photos page, click the album you wish to make private, then click “Privacy Settings.”
This allows everyone to view the album. Just like normal.
When a non-member views your portfolio and sees an album that you have set to Members Only, they will not see your designated album picture, and instead of the album’s name, they will see, “MM Members Only.”
If the non-member tries to view the album, they see, “[Your name] has chosen to only show this album to MM Members. If you would like to view the album, please contact [Your name].”
This acts just like the Members Only setting above, except instead of just having to be logged in, the member has to be on your friends list to view the album. If not, they see, “Friends Only,” and, “[Your name] has chosen to only show this album to Friends of [Your name]. If you would like to view the album, please contact [Your name].”
If you wish for only a specific few members to be able to view an album, you can set a password on it, and those without the password will not be able to view the album.
Regardless of the album privacy, all images in all albums are visible to the moderator team, and all images must follow image rules.