Yea verily Brian spoketh saying "Let there be a banner contest". And there was much rejoicing.
This thread was locked on 2009-11-05 11:04:00. Reason: Yes its a scam. Please don't post stuff like that. Thanks.
Forums > General Industry > This maybe a scam for its smells like Search    Reply
Photographer
Ümar
Posts: 905

To my peer photographers, thought share the following information, that I received in my PM. I suspect its a scam like the Nigerian Million Dollar scam. I am posting the content of the PM after removing the identifiable details of the sender.

trying to sort out most things so we can send you details to
    GQ and MAXIM magazine for preview cause we work in collaboration with them so if you are interested get back to me today with the following information below so that we can arrange your part payment for you to be rest assured($300).The part payment would be mailed directly to you alongside the studio fee of $1150 making the total payment to $1450 and immediately you have it i will instruct
you and give you the studio agents name you are to send the studio rental fee to.Then you will be paid the balance immediately after the shooting,I hope this is quite check your email on a regular basis,i might have updates for you.
                                                       
Full Name...
contact Address...(No P.O.BOX)
City...
State...
Zip Code...
Phone #...
Occupation...                                                       
So Kindly mail me to my personal mail or add me so that we can chat at @yahoo.com

Thanks,
Ms (deleted)


My reason for posting this is to forewarn or raise the red flag for others.
Nov 05 09 08:33 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Shizam1
Posts: 1,239

Obvious overpayment scam.  Make sure you CAM about it.
Nov 05 09 08:45 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Paul Bryson Photography
Posts: 35,897

Take the word "maybe" out of the thread title and it'll be correct. smile
Nov 05 09 08:50 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ümar
Posts: 905

I think the moderators should block this persons MM account if not delete it.
Nov 05 09 09:41 am  Link  Quote 
Model
Rachel Jay
Posts: 14,423

Copypasta response below... but the last paragraph is really one you should make note of, since you said you got the message in your PMs here.

It's old, and the person in the email you received isn't real, and isn't the same person numerous other people will receive and email from today, tomorrow, or in 10 years.  The email itself is ever-changing, though the message itself remains the same.  It's far more helpful to educate people on how to figure out if the message they've received is a scam based on a few key things (bad grammar/spelling is one of them), instead of copying and pasting the entire message here. 

Here is some information on how to spot the scam, instead of how to just spot one instance of it. 

www.newmodels.com gives great info on the famous Nigerian scam.

Check out The New Model's Guide to the Industry and Scams here on MM.

And let's not forget Roger's article, which is a great resource.

Remove your email from your profile, if it's there.  There's no reason for it to be there, as MM has a messaging system.  Messages you receive do not deplete your number of messages you are allotted to send in a 24 hour period, and you can exchange email addresses after receiving a message if you choose to communicate that way.

Don't reply to these kinds of emails.  It only confirms that your email address is active, and often results in your email address being sold to other scammers and spammers.  You can, with some email programs, flag the message as spam, and should then delete it.  Again, don't reply, not even with a snarky "I'm smarter than you" response.

If you received the message from an MM member, you need to let site moderators know immediately.  Take a screenshot of the PM, upload it to a public image hosting site (like Photobucket, Flickr, or even Myspace) and send a link to the screenshot to moderators via the "Contact a Mod" system.  Be sure to include the person's MM information as well.  You can open a CAM directly here: http://www.modelmayhem.com/contactamod.php
Nov 05 09 09:57 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ümar
Posts: 905

Rachel Jay wrote:
Copypasta response below... but the last paragraph is really one you should make note of, since you said you got the message in your PMs here.

It's old, and the person in the email you received isn't real, and isn't the same person numerous other people will receive and email from today, tomorrow, or in 10 years.  The email itself is ever-changing, though the message itself remains the same.  It's far more helpful to educate people on how to figure out if the message they've received is a scam based on a few key things (bad grammar/spelling is one of them), instead of copying and pasting the entire message here. 

Here is some information on how to spot the scam, instead of how to just spot one instance of it. 

www.newmodels.com gives great info on the famous Nigerian scam.

Check out The New Model's Guide to the Industry and Scams here on MM.

And let's not forget Roger's article, which is a great resource.

Remove your email from your profile, if it's there.  There's no reason for it to be there, as MM has a messaging system.  Messages you receive do not deplete your number of messages you are allotted to send in a 24 hour period, and you can exchange email addresses after receiving a message if you choose to communicate that way.

Don't reply to these kinds of emails.  It only confirms that your email address is active, and often results in your email address being sold to other scammers and spammers.  You can, with some email programs, flag the message as spam, and should then delete it.  Again, don't reply, not even with a snarky "I'm smarter than you" response.

If you received the message from an MM member, you need to let site moderators know immediately.  Take a screenshot of the PM, upload it to a public image hosting site (like Photobucket, Flickr, or even Myspace) and send a link to the screenshot to moderators via the "Contact a Mod" system.  Be sure to include the person's MM information as well.  You can open a CAM directly here: http://www.modelmayhem.com/contactamod.php

This message was received from a MM Member. I notified the moderator of this message. Its now up to the moderator/moderators how expeditiously they act on it. So  far I still see the members account as being active.

Nov 05 09 10:07 am  Link  Quote 
Model
Rachel Jay
Posts: 14,423

Ümar wrote:
This message was received from a MM Member. I notified the moderator of this message. Its now up to the moderator/moderators how expeditiously they act on it. So  far I still see the members account as being active.

Be patient.  Sometimes it takes time for things to happen.

Nov 05 09 10:10 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ken Marcus Studios
Posts: 3,585

If you smell rotten fish . . . . guess what?

You've got a rotten fish



KM
Nov 05 09 10:17 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Scottsworld71
Posts: 2,086

you didnt seriously question the reality of this did you?
Nov 05 09 10:28 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ümar
Posts: 905

Scottsworld71 wrote:
you didnt seriously question the reality of this did you?

Not at all.  The PM had scam written all over it. I knew it was a scam. But posted it here  to share with fellow members.

Nov 05 09 11:00 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | info | advertising | contests | join the mayhem

©2006-2009 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Internet Rank