login info join!
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > Another Deconvolution Option: Topaz InFocus Search   Reply
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


I usually use a touch of focus magic on the L channel, but this new Topaz plugin looks interesting

http://www.topazlabs.com/infocus/

and there is a special price right now
Nov 22 10 12:56 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
FJR Photography
Posts: 6,616
Pekin, Indiana, US


I saw that and tried to download the trial to check it out... me and 10 million others apparently. The servers couldn't handle it.
Nov 22 10 03:58 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
907Benjamin
Posts: 1,712
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, US


just got it, and it's ok, it definitely can sharpen a photo up (sorry if i'm using the wrong terms), but there seems to be a bit of fringe between the face and hair on the photo i tried it out on real quickly, maybe i've got the settings too high.
Nov 22 10 05:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


Benjamin Lambert wrote:
just got it, and it's ok, it definitely can sharpen a photo up (sorry if i'm using the wrong terms), but there seems to be a bit of fringe between the face and hair on the photo i tried it out on real quickly, maybe i've got the settings too high.

For focus magic I never go above 2 pixels - usually I keep it to 1 pixel

http://www.focusmagic.com/

Nov 22 10 07:52 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Sentimental-SINtimental
Posts: 1,314
Castle Rock, Washington, US


I like it... reminds me alot of Topaz Detail... but simpler
Nov 22 10 10:48 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Chuckarelei
Posts: 9,330
Seattle, Washington, US


The samples there on their website look pretty amazing.
Nov 23 10 10:08 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Digital Joint
Posts: 2,942
Fairborn, Ohio, US


NothingIsRealButTheGirl wrote:

For focus magic I never go above 2 pixels - usually I keep it to 1 pixel

http://www.focusmagic.com/

Do you see a significant improvement at just 1 pixel?  Wait, maybe that's a stupid question seeing that it's what you use and your photos look great smile

Nov 23 10 12:38 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


I tried to install Focus Magic on my new computer only to discover it does not support any 64-bit OS.

So I bought this Topaz version while the price is still $40 off
Nov 28 10 11:58 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Sean Baker Photo
Posts: 8,036
Silver Spring, Maryland, US


NothingIsRealButTheGirl wrote:
I tried to install Focus Magic on my new computer only to discover it does not support any 64-bit OS.

So I bought this Topaz version while the price is still $40 off

How do you find the quality of results to compare?

Nov 29 10 02:43 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


SRB Photo wrote:
How do you find the quality of results to compare?

Pros:

Floating point (instead of whole number) blur window sizes
Very sharp when it works

Cons:

Buggy GUI.
Buttons ignored sometimes.
Sometimes scrolling a tool gui window results in the document preview window scrolling instead

Nov 29 10 01:20 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Sean Baker Photo
Posts: 8,036
Silver Spring, Maryland, US


NothingIsRealButTheGirl wrote:

Pros:

Floating point (instead of whole number) blur window sizes
Very sharp when it works

Cons:

Buggy GUI.
Buttons ignored sometimes.
Sometimes scrolling a tool gui window results in the document preview window scrolling instead

Though I haven't spent as much time with Focus Magic as you to make direct comparison, those are similar to my own thoughts.  I'm amazed by the PSF recovery it's pulling off, but am disappointed by the noise control in the actual deconvolution (they have the code in the other plugins - use it!).

Nov 29 10 03:54 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


Seems to work fine on a Mac at work as far as GUI bugs go.

Had no luck taking the motion blur out of a steadily (but too rapidly) panning shot across inanimate objects. (the first frame wasn't good enough so I didn't bother trying it on the rest of the frames in the shot)
Nov 29 10 06:16 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Michael DBA Expressions
Posts: 3,149
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


I've been playing with it, and it seems to depend on the photo: works better with some than others. First time that's ever happened (note: I'm being sarcastic here.)

Looked into Focus Magic as mentioned above: doesn't work with any 64 bit OS's and worse, on a Mac requires either a PowerPC Mac or Rosetta (PowerPC emulation) on an Intel Mac.
Nov 29 10 06:26 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Smedley Whiplash
Posts: 17,279
Billings, Montana, US


Got a chance to test this. Customer ordered an image that was out of focus. I actually gave them something else (constructed a new one from other images of the same), but it's interesting to see what this program comes up with.

I haven't used it much, so on this one I let the program make the correction automatically. (my try at focus correction kinda sucked smile )

http://blink308.com/tmp/Topaz-focus2.jpg

http://blink308.com/tmp/Topaz-focus1.jpg


Not too bad, but no 8x10's in it's future...
Dec 07 10 11:57 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
907Benjamin
Posts: 1,712
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, US


Smedley Whiplash wrote:
Got a chance to test this. Customer ordered an image that was out of focus. I actually gave them something else (constructed a new one from other images of the same), but it's interesting to see what this program comes up with.

I haven't used it much, so on this one I let the program make the correction automatically. (my try at focus correction kinda sucked smile )

http://blink308.com/tmp/Topaz-focus2.jpg

http://blink308.com/tmp/Topaz-focus1.jpg


Not too bad, but no 8x10's in it's future...

not bad, you've had better luck than i have with it, i'll have to play with it some more.

Dec 07 10 07:58 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Dan OMell
Posts: 1,335
Charlotte, North Carolina, US


I use Win7ULT-64bit, and I tried focusmagic (I heard about this software from you long ago) as a plugin to IrfanView, and it works just fine to me. IrfanView can open any new NEF RAW Nikon files (type "T" to open its file viewer to see LARGE icons in 64-bit via 32-bit exe), and after sharpening I save it into TIFF and open in Photoshop if I need to do something else.

NothingIsRealButTheGirl wrote:
I tried to install Focus Magic on my new computer only to discover it does not support any 64-bit OS.

So I bought this Topaz version while the price is still $40 off

Dec 07 10 09:31 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


NothingIsRealButTheGirl wrote:
Cons:

Buggy GUI.
Buttons ignored sometimes.
Sometimes scrolling a tool gui window results in the document preview window scrolling instead

Qt does not work with Wacom

http://www.google.com/#hl=en&expIds=256 … q=Qt+wacom

Which makes this software not work with Wacom

Dec 10 10 11:10 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 32,600
Los Angeles, California, US


The Space Cowboy wrote:
I tried to install Focus Magic on my new computer only to discover it does not support any 64-bit OS.

So I bought this Topaz version while the price is still $40 off

I've long since moved on to Topaz, but Focus Magic is finally coming out with a 64-bit version FWIW...

It's in BETA now.

email support@focusmagic.com if you want to beta test it.

Feb 20 13 04:29 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Ledo retouch
Posts: 1,136
Lodi, California, US


I think I might try it, it's very intriguing and does well at keeping noise
low with pretty amazing results
Feb 20 13 08:28 pm  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers