login info join!
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > PhotoShop CS6 Beta Search   Reply
12last
Photographer
Jolly Roger Imagery
Posts: 98
Little Falls, New Jersey, US


Public Beta available for a limited time free trial

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/photoshopcs6/

Many new features, including a whole new UI & content aware MOVE.
Mar 21 12 09:29 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


why is the win version twice the the size of the mac?...cause of 32-64 bit?
Mar 21 12 09:43 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ruben Vasquez
Posts: 3,090
Puyallup, Washington, US


Koray wrote:
why is the win version twice the the size of the mac?...cause of 32-64 bit?

Good question. I know one of the caveats with the mac version is that it no longer supports 32 bit.

I kinda feel sorry for the mac crowd. When CS4 came out, pc's were able to go 64 bit but mac's had to wait till CS5. Now CS6 only allows 64 bit...

Mar 21 12 09:47 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Gulag
Posts: 1,221
Duluth, Georgia, US


Koray wrote:
why is the win version twice the the size of the mac?...cause of 32-64 bit?

Millions' lines of code right there. Apple has started a full-scale war with Adobe when Steve Jobs decided Apple wouldn't support flash on hand-held. Guess what?  Adobe runs on Windows just fine.

Mar 21 12 10:16 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


there is a new color lookup adjustment tool for the glazed look heh big_smile
Mar 22 12 12:28 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Studio Chiaroscuro
Posts: 81
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada


Koray wrote:
there is a new color lookup adjustment tool for the glazed look heh big_smile

Sorry... could you explain what you mean?

Mar 22 12 12:53 am  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


Studio Chiaroscuro wrote:

Sorry... could you explain what you mean?

I was referring to this thread:
http://www.modelmayhem.com/po.php?threa … 697&page=1

some Color Lookup presets has similar effects discussed there smile

Mar 22 12 01:05 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Quang Dang
Posts: 2,955
Montreal, Quebec, Canada


Does anyone has tried this beta yet?
Mar 22 12 04:35 am  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


Quang Dang wrote:
Does anyone has tried this beta yet?

I did...a little on my slow laptop. looks good to me smile

Mar 22 12 04:49 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Marcus Turner Photo
Posts: 201
Chicago, Illinois, US


Koray wrote:
there is a new color lookup adjustment tool for the glazed look heh big_smile

LOL really now smart move adobe

Mar 22 12 07:49 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Simon Ritter
Posts: 102
London, England, United Kingdom


Lynda.com has a very good guide of all the new features in CS6 Beta:
http://www.lynda.com/Photoshop-tutorial … hop%2BBeta

http://simonritter.com/ModelMayhem/blinksml.gif
Mar 22 12 11:44 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Leighthenubian
Posts: 2,749
Toronto, Ontario, Canada


Simon Ritter wrote:
Lynda.com has a very good guide of all the new features in CS6 Beta:
http://www.lynda.com/Photoshop-tutorial … hop%2BBeta

http://simonritter.com/ModelMayhem/blinksml.gif

So far so good..feels snappier on my Win 7 64bit machine when performing some functions that use to seem slow. Interface design is a bit better.

Mar 22 12 03:16 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


Select Color Range supposedly detects faces now and that field blur may make skin smoothing easier when used on low pass...maybe big_smile
Mar 22 12 04:47 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Marcus Turner Photo
Posts: 201
Chicago, Illinois, US


Koray wrote:
Select Color Range supposed detects faces now and that field blur may make skin smoothing easier when used on low pass...maybe big_smile

as far as using  bandstop?

Mar 22 12 04:51 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


Marcus Turner Photo wrote:

as far as using  bandstop?

being able to add multiple pins may yield to new opportunities. havent tried yet though.

right now I'm experimenting with surface blurring channels, making luminosity masks using them and sharpening or making adjutments on the rgb on CS5...interesting stuff big_smile

Mar 22 12 04:56 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Quang Dang
Posts: 2,955
Montreal, Quebec, Canada


Koray wrote:

being able to add multiple pins may yield to new opportunities. havent tried yet though.

right now I'm experimenting with surface blurring channels, making luminosity masks using them and sharpening or making adjutments on the rgb on CS5...interesting stuff big_smile

The blur looks really interesting smile
Im waiting to get a new Mac before install it. My current computer would probably run too slow. I believe u using a recent Mac to run it...

Mar 22 12 05:14 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


Quang Dang wrote:
Im waiting to get a new Mac before install it. My current computer would probably run too slow. I believe u using a recent Mac to run it...

no I installed it on my cheap slow laptop that I use for browsing and its not that bad at all for 8 bit images...havent tried it for real yet on 16 bit stuff.

I also think that unlike LR4 beta, that CS6 is the final release but thats just a hunch smile

Mar 22 12 05:43 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,843
Santa Cruz, California, US


I have leftovers from CS6 prelease version all over the place. Deleted them manually as best I could but the Beta installer still detects the prerelase version. I'm on Win 7 64-bit. Anybody gotta a similar experience? I get this message: A conflicting or prerelease version of Adobe Photoshop CS6 exists on this computer. The conflicting version must be removed before installing from a current media.
Mar 22 12 06:34 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Marcus Turner Photo
Posts: 201
Chicago, Illinois, US


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:
I have leftovers from CS6 prelease version all over the place. Deleted them manually as best I could but the Beta installer still detects the prerelase version. I'm on Win 7 64-bit. Anybody gotta a similar experience? I get this message: A conflicting or prerelease version of Adobe Photoshop CS6 exists on this computer. The conflicting version must be removed before installing from a current media.

The information could be in your registry files

Mar 22 12 10:01 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,843
Santa Cruz, California, US


Marcus Turner Photo wrote:

The information could be in your registry files

Searched everything. From registry and all other drives with the word "CS6". deleted everything, cleaned my registry and still have the same issue. sad

Adobe Employee at their forum told me that there should be a clean up tool, but I can't find it.

Mar 22 12 10:42 pm  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Koray
Posts: 6,679
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey


I uninstalled the prerelease using the control panel and all it asked before the new install was a restart was pending. Everything went normal after that.
Also I installed only the 64 bit...you may want to give both a try separately, one is better than nothing if it works smile
Mar 22 12 11:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Retouch by Sarra
Posts: 243
Fargo, North Dakota, US


Loving the new way that Camera Raw is set up!!!

Also I'm glad that Liquify works better when switching through brush sizes.. and zooming is much faster from a Windows laptop. Yet to test it on my iMac it's too busy playing Primeval marathons.
Mar 22 12 11:21 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,843
Santa Cruz, California, US


Koray wrote:
I uninstalled the prerelease using the control panel and all it asked before the new install was a restart was pending. Everything went normal after that.
Also I installed only the 64 bit...you may want to give both a try separately, one is better than nothing if it works smile

Tried it, no luck. Waiting to get a response form Adobe.

Mar 22 12 11:29 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Drew Smith Photography
Posts: 5,209
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom


LOL

It's feels like being a bull with a ring through my nose.

I get the 5Dmk2 and they bring out the Mk3. I start thinking about upgrading from CS4 to CS5 and they bring out CS6 in beta! smile

I'm off to hide my wallet from myself.
Mar 23 12 01:59 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
WMcK
Posts: 5,238
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom


There was publicity (and a public demonstration on You Tube) from Adobe recently about a "focus" tool which corrected (or at least improved) out of focus images. It was expected to be incorporated in CS6 but I don't see it listed. Does anyone know anything about it?
Mar 23 12 02:31 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Joann Empson
Posts: 430
Walnut Creek, California, US


WMcK wrote:
There was publicity (and a public demonstration on You Tube) from Adobe recently about a "focus" toll which corrected (or at least improved) out of focus images. It was expected to be incorporated in CS6 but I don't see it listed. Does anyone know anything about it?

I don't know when Photoshop will release its Deblur feature, but if you simply can't wait for it, you can try the Refocus-it plug-in in GIMP. It's been around since 2004. http://refocus-it.sourceforge.net/

Mar 23 12 02:57 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Argiris Maipas
Posts: 34
Athens, Attikí, Greece


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:

Tried it, no luck. Waiting to get a response form Adobe.

I had the prerelease version
Make a deep registry clean with this or a similar program http://www.ursoftware.com/
Restart and it will work

Contact via Pm  for any question

Mar 23 12 06:12 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Cfound
Posts: 263
Raleigh, North Carolina, US


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:

Tried it, no luck. Waiting to get a response form Adobe.

I'm not sure if this will work for CS6 or not. I know it works for all previous versions though.

Adobe Creative Suite Cleaner Tool

Hope this helps

Mar 23 12 06:31 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,843
Santa Cruz, California, US


Argi Maipas retoucher wrote:

Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:
Tried it, no luck. Waiting to get a response form Adobe.

I had the prerelease version
Make a deep registry clean with this or a similar program http://www.ursoftware.com/
Restart and it will work

Contact via Pm  for any question

OK, will try it later today. Thank you for suggestion. I wanted to use Revo Uninstaller, similar uninstaller. Problem was that it couldn't find prerelease version since it's didn't have a typical installer. Will try this one maybe it can help.

Regards,
Kruno


Conrad_T wrote:

I'm not sure if this will work for CS6 or not. I know it works for all previous versions though.

Adobe Creative Suite Cleaner Tool

Hope this helps

Tried it: The Adobe Creative Suite Cleaner Tool helps resolve installation problems for Adobe Creative Suite 5 - 5.5, Adobe Creative Suite 4, and Adobe Creative Suite 3 software. No CS6 unfortunately.

Funny, but this is from adobe help forums from one of their employees: "You probably need to run the cleaner script to get rid of all traces." but no response where I could get one for CS6. I'll try to figure something out later today when I get some time for it.

You probably need to run the cleaner script to get rid of all traces.

Mar 23 12 07:55 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
mathieu drut
Posts: 404
San Jose, California, US


WMcK wrote:
There was publicity (and a public demonstration on You Tube) from Adobe recently about a "focus" tool which corrected (or at least improved) out of focus images. It was expected to be incorporated in CS6 but I don't see it listed. Does anyone know anything about it?

It's called deblur and it was just demonstrated, they never said it would make it into CS6. And it won't correct out of focus image it will handle motion blur.

Mar 23 12 09:17 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
RonJons Digital Beauty
Posts: 72
Sierra Vista, Arizona, US


some great videos to show you around CS6

http://www.lynda.com/Photoshop-tutorial … 406-2.html
Mar 23 12 02:07 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Frank Sanders
Posts: 77
Vienna, Wien, Austria


The problem seems to  be known, but there is no solution right now

http://forums.adobe.com/message/4283266
Mar 24 12 06:07 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Dan K Photography
Posts: 5,409
STATEN ISLAND, New York, US


anyone else notice when they start CS6 that the splash screen it says Superstition version 13.
Mar 24 12 11:09 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
pxspace
Posts: 1,046
Braşov, Braşov, Romania


Dan K Photography wrote:
anyone else notice when they start CS6 that the splash screen it says Superstition version 13.

I know! And I got up and turned around 3 times counterclockwise! tongue

In all seriousness, I got a chance to take a quick peek at cs6 yesterday, and it looks pretty cool! Can't wait to check out more in depth the new features! big_smile

Mar 24 12 12:22 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Quang Dang
Posts: 2,955
Montreal, Quebec, Canada


RonJons Digital Beauty wrote:
some great videos to show you around CS6

http://www.lynda.com/Photoshop-tutorial … 406-2.html

Pretty nice tutorials!

Thanks for sharing

Mar 24 12 05:15 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Living Pictures
Posts: 47
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada


Drew Smith Photography wrote:
LOL

It's feels like being a bull with a ring through my nose.

I get the 5Dmk2 and they bring out the Mk3. I start thinking about upgrading from CS4 to CS5 and they bring out CS6 in beta! smile

I'm off to hide my wallet from myself.

Adobe announced that if you upgrade to cs5.5 from now until June 30th you get a complimentary upgrade to cs6 when it is released.

Apr 03 12 05:25 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Mike Kirwan Photography
Posts: 573
Walnut Creek, California, US


Koray wrote:
why is the win version twice the the size of the mac?...cause of 32-64 bit?

The windows package contains both the 32 bit and 64 bit install binaries, the MAC version now only supports 64 bit.

MK

Apr 03 12 07:27 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
eos3_300
Posts: 1,458
Brooklyn, New York, US


Has anybody tried this with Windows 8 Consumer release ?
Mine wont start the program
Apr 03 12 07:36 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
nwprophoto
Posts: 13,911
Kalibo, Western Visayas, Philippines


Too a quick look.
Is there anything to get excited about feature wise?
Apr 03 12 09:23 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
SuperWink
Posts: 167
Carlsbad, California, US


I've got it on my Mac.  I really like it.  The interface has a few components that are just different enough to slow you up a half step, though.  Like crop, for example.  Apart from that, I have noticed a marked difference in the Liquify filter.  In CS5.1 it used to get a bit bogged down if I tried making too many moves too quickly.  CS6 is much more responsive with those more RAM-heavy activities.
Apr 03 12 09:38 pm  Link  Quote 
12last   Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers