AimeeButler
Posts: 322
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Hi everyone
If you get this email... it's a scam:
-----------------
From: "KKrantz55@aol.com" <KKrantz55@aol.com>
Dear Aimee, I'm writing to you in regard to my husband Kenny who has gone through major back surgery and is going to be laid up in bed for a long while. My husband is a very big fan of yours. I would like to ask if you could please send him an autographed photo. If you could I know my husband would be thrilled and I would be forever grateful to you. Thank You Very Much Sandy
Kenny Thrun
40 Clifford Street
Buffalo New York
USA 14210
-------------
Turns out kenny / sandy is writing to anyone & everyone, also likes to sell the autographs:
Lol that's my city. Clifford st is the projects. There's an old guy that likes to steal people's photos and sell them downtown. It's probably him. Don't do it.
Dear Aimee, I'm writing to you in regard to my husband Kenny who has gone through major back surgery and is going to be laid up in bed for a long while. My husband is a very big fan of yours. I would like to ask if you could please send him an autographed photo. If you could I know my husband would be thrilled and I would be forever grateful to you. Thank You Very Much Sandy
Kenny Thrun
40 Clifford Street
Buffalo New York
USA 14210
-------------
Turns out kenny / sandy is writing to anyone & everyone, also likes to sell the autographs:
Moments Exposure wrote: Lol that's my city. Clifford st is the projects. There's an old guy that likes to steal people's photos and sell them downtown. It's probably him. Don't do it.
Spent a little time with the Copper Bottom Band the other night. Heard a familiar voice at the buss door while the autograph hounds were getting their fix... My Wife.
I just received this same message last night.. and stupid me was considering sending this guy a calendar.. glad something told me to google him first..
Dear Aimee, I'm writing to you in regard to my husband Kenny who has gone through major back surgery and is going to be laid up in bed for a long while. My husband is a very big fan of yours. I would like to ask if you could please send him an autographed photo. If you could I know my husband would be thrilled and I would be forever grateful to you. Thank You Very Much Sandy
Kenny Thrun
40 Clifford Street
Buffalo New York
USA 14210
-------------
Turns out kenny / sandy is writing to anyone & everyone, also likes to sell the autographs:
I don't get the scam? What are you bring scammed out of? Aimee I looked into our port, and you're remarkable, and hell, I would even get hit by a car if that will get me your autograph... but then what? An autographed Beyonce photo might sell, but an autographed Bluestill photo just won't feed the kids. Instead of running an elaborate scam, why not just print your photo and have a female friend sign your name to it and I say it is your signature? Who would know? But more so, who would care? Can I have your autograph? :-)
I don't get the scam? What are you bring scammed out of? Aimee I looked into our port, and you're remarkable, and hell, I would even get hit by a car if that will get me your autograph... but then what? An autographed Beyonce photo might sell, but an autographed Bluestill photo just won't feed the kids. Instead of running an elaborate scam, why not just print your photo and have a female friend sign your name to it and I say it is your signature? Who would know? But more so, who would care? Can I have your autograph? :-)
The scam is that they are pretending to be a fan wanting a signed autograph, when really what they are doing is collecting/reselling the photos.
I just got this email today, and one of the main reasons I knew it was a scam right away is that my email address isn't posted ANYWHERE in relevance to my modeling. I don't think it's such a dumb scam though--- I bet they've gotten quite a few responses with people sending them free autographed photos, in which they end up selling.
Augustine York wrote: The scam is that they are pretending to be a fan wanting a signed autograph, when really what they are doing is collecting/reselling the photos.
Where am I missing out on the huge market for print photos? Why run a scam when you can TAKE photos and sell them legally, if so many people are eager to buy them.
Where am I missing out on the huge market for print photos? Why run a scam when you can TAKE photos and sell them legally, if so many people are eager to buy them.
I am not sure of the market - I have heard of models making money from signed prints, but the whole point of this scam is that they don't have to pay anything to get them, so anything they sell is pure profit.
Sure, they could buy a camera and hire a model to get the photos. But they are scammers. They want to make money without having to go through legitimate channels.
I got a similar letter, one that said Kenny was a disabled army vet. So being my family is full of military and military vets I almost felt honored and pleased, till I googled the name. I couldn't understand why or how anyone could want an autograph from me considering I am pretty much a no body. So I wrote back tell this "Sandy" that I googled the name and found out it was quite a scam and this is the response I received.
"Regardless of your google there is no scam my husband is disabled and does think your beautiful. But I can see your beauty is only on the outside. The answer to my request was
a simple yes or no. No one is forcing you so there is no need to be rude. You asked if he was military. And yes he is a Vet who proudly served in the Army.That is nothing to joke
about. And both of our fathers proudly served as well as other family members. So thank
you just the same. But my husband doesn't need an autograph from you. Have a nice day!!"
In some aspects I wonder is there really is a "Kenny Thrun" and maybe I was a bit harsh. But I still don't understand why this person could want autographs of people who are famous and from people who aren't anything special....either way I felt awkward and weird about it do I listened to my gut.
I got this message on my FB fanpage. I already knew it was BS, but I sent a letter back explaining that models don't generally own copyright to their photos and they were welcome to contact my photographers and purchase a print from them for me to sign.
IDiivil wrote: Oh wow, I had this exact email ... Thanks for the heads up. I thought something was wrong when I got it - especially when it was sent twice to me.
I would love your autographed photo! Photographing you is a better idea.