login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > v700 scanner Search   Reply
Photographer
photo by mike
Posts: 67
Greensboro, North Carolina, US


HI guys I was wondering if  any of you use vuescan what are your thought on it. Do use a different film holder.What would work better for a novice. Any advice would be appreciated. thanks
Nov 13 12 02:46 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
photo by mike
Posts: 67
Greensboro, North Carolina, US


Some kind of help please
Nov 13 12 05:33 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Tony-S
Posts: 1,313
Fort Collins, Colorado, US


Silverfast is much better. I haven't used Vuescan since getting my V700.
Nov 13 12 06:40 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Maxximages
Posts: 1,979
Los Angeles, California, US


I have the Epson V750 and use Silverfast and am quite happy with it. I do not recommend the 35mm holders that come with the scanner. For 35mm i use a dedicated 35mm scanner. For 120 the Epson works fine with the stock holders as long as your film is flat.
Nov 13 12 07:34 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Mike Fiction
Posts: 495
Columbus, Ohio, US


I second using silverfast - silverfast AI with multiscan is the bomb
Nov 13 12 09:44 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
ybfoto
Posts: 644
Oakland, California, US


I use vuescan with the Nikon 9000 . If you are going to post edit your scan with PS or LR then vuescan is all you need or should use. Ideally you should just be scanning for  a digital negative to be tweaked later.
Nov 13 12 10:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Roy Hubbard
Posts: 2,756
New York, New York, US


I started out using Vuescan with my v700. It has somewhat of a learning curve, but it works quite well once you've established a suitable workflow.

These days, I just use the bundled Epson Scan software. It works surprisingly well, and I wish I'd given it more of a chance when I first started scanning. Would have saved a lot of time.
Nov 13 12 10:52 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ronald N. Tan
Posts: 2,725
Los Angeles, California, US


I have been using VueScan for long time and I have nothing but good things. With VueScan, when you purchase a license and bought new scanning devices, you can use VUESCAN with the new device.

Unless SilverFast changed things around since I last read about the product, you buy a licence for the specific product.

For example, I have the not defunct KonicaMinolta DiMAGEScan Elite 5400II. With SilverFast, I could only use the the product with my scanner. What if I decided to buy (for example) the Nikon CoolScan? I'd have to buy another version of SilverFast.
Nov 14 12 09:16 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers