login info join!
This thread was locked on 2012-12-08 23:01:05. Reason: Done.
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > Camera Raw command line option? Search   Reply
12last
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


I want to open a jpeg in photoshop using camera raw from the command line.  But I can't figure out what the command line options are for photoshop.  Anyone know?
Dec 08 12 02:21 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Charger Photography
Posts: 1,704
San Antonio, Texas, US


Schlake wrote:
I want to open a jpeg in photoshop using camera raw from the command line.  But I can't figure out what the command line options are for photoshop.  Anyone know?

Don't understang why you want to do this.. since on the command line pictures wont be displayed. lol.. but just just go to the directory where camera RAW is and then type the directory where the pic is.... c:\my pictures\RAW\*.NEF

smile

Dec 08 12 02:30 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Charger Photography wrote:

Don't understang why you want to do this.. since on the command line pictures wont be displayed. lol.. but just just go to the directory where camera RAW is and then type the directory where the pic is.... c:\my pictures\RAW\*.NEF

smile

I want to open a jpeg in camera raw, not a raw file.  Jepgs don't automatically open in raw, which is my problem.

Dec 08 12 02:32 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Charger Photography
Posts: 1,704
San Antonio, Texas, US


Schlake wrote:

I want to open a jpeg in camera raw, not a raw file.  Jepgs don't automatically open in raw, which is my problem.

Thats because camera RAW look for a RAW extention... not *.jpeg .... Just open the jpeg in PS.... even if you managed to open it on Camera RAW.. you wont be able to do any adjustments

Dec 08 12 02:36 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Paul AI
Posts: 1,046
Shawnee, Oklahoma, US


Open the JPG in Adobe Bridge, press and hold the CTRL button, then right click the JPG.  There will be an option to "Open In Camera Raw" right underneath where it says "Open With..."
Dec 08 12 02:45 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Charger Photography wrote:

Thats because camera RAW look for a RAW extention... not *.jpeg .... Just open the jpeg in PS.... even if you managed to open it on Camera RAW.. you wont be able to do any adjustments

I can do all the adjustments in Camera Raw, which is why I want to open my jpeg in camera raw.

Dec 08 12 02:53 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Paul AI wrote:
Open the JPG in Adobe Bridge, press and hold the CTRL button, then right click the JPG.  There will be an option to "Open In Camera Raw" right underneath where it says "Open With..."

That doesn't help me open it in camera raw form the command line.  I know how to open it in Bridge, it's easy.  I'm trying to open from the command line.

Dec 08 12 02:54 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
James Ogilvie
Posts: 6,640
Toronto, Ontario, Canada


Charger Photography wrote:

Thats because camera RAW look for a RAW extention... not *.jpeg .... Just open the jpeg in PS.... even if you managed to open it on Camera RAW.. you wont be able to do any adjustments

Camera RAW will adjust JPG files.

Dec 08 12 03:02 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
I want to open a jpeg in camera raw, not a raw file.  Jepgs don't automatically open in raw, which is my problem.

Inside Photoshop, try File > Open As. Open the flyout menu and choose this option. Then navigate to your jpeg and double-click. It'll open in Camera Raw.

http://img607.imageshack.us/img607/6549/menul.gif

Dec 08 12 03:42 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Peano wrote:

Inside Photoshop, try File > Open As. Open the flyout menu and choose this option. Then navigate to your jpeg and double-click. It'll open in Camera Raw.

http://img607.imageshack.us/img607/6549/menul.gif

And how do I do that from the command line?

Dec 08 12 04:04 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jerry Nemeth
Posts: 27,210
Dearborn, Michigan, US


Charger Photography wrote:

Thats because camera RAW look for a RAW extention... not *.jpeg .... Just open the jpeg in PS.... even if you managed to open it on Camera RAW.. you wont be able to do any adjustments

Not true!  I make adjustments on JPEG photos in Camera Raw.  Scott Kelby said that you can!

Dec 08 12 04:48 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jerry Nemeth
Posts: 27,210
Dearborn, Michigan, US


Schlake wrote:

I want to open a jpeg in camera raw, not a raw file.  Jepgs don't automatically open in raw, which is my problem.

You can manually open a JPEG in RAW.

Dec 08 12 04:49 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jerry Nemeth
Posts: 27,210
Dearborn, Michigan, US


Peano wrote:

Inside Photoshop, try File > Open As. Open the flyout menu and choose this option. Then navigate to your jpeg and double-click. It'll open in Camera Raw.

http://img607.imageshack.us/img607/6549/menul.gif

+1

Dec 08 12 04:50 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
And how do I do that from the command line?

I'm offering you an alternative to the command line that will work. Take it or leave it.

I don't care if you do it from the 50-yard line or the Maginot Line or the Mason-Dixon Line. If you insist on doing it that way, figure it out for yourself.

Dec 08 12 04:50 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Peano wrote:

I'm offering you an alternative to the command line that will work. Take it or leave it.

I don't care if you do it from the 50-yard line or the Maginot Line or the Mason-Dixon Line. If you insist on doing it that way, figure it out for yourself.

That isn't an alternative at all.  You're just an idiot.

Dec 08 12 05:01 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jerry Nemeth
Posts: 27,210
Dearborn, Michigan, US


Schlake wrote:

That isn't an alternative at all.  You're just an idiot.

He is telling you how to do it!  I do it that way!

Dec 08 12 05:06 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Jerry Nemeth wrote:

He is telling you how to do it!  I do it that way!

That isn't how you do it from the command line.  It isn't helpful at all.  He's just trolling.

Dec 08 12 05:09 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
KB9NDF
Posts: 861
Indianapolis, Indiana, US


Which OS are you using? CP/M?
Dec 08 12 05:22 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
That isn't an alternative at all.  You're just an idiot.

I guess you're stuck, then.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/893/stuckpp.jpg

Dec 08 12 05:37 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


KB9NDF wrote:
Which OS are you using? CP/M?

MacOS 10.7.5.

Dec 08 12 05:38 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,062
Rochester, New York, US


Schlake wrote:
I want to open a jpeg in photoshop using camera raw from the command line.  But I can't figure out what the command line options are for photoshop.  Anyone know?

Open Preferences, Open General, X at Automatically launch Bridge.

Dec 08 12 05:49 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
cubicmicron photography
Posts: 381
Smyrna, Georgia, US


At least since CS5 you may open a jpg with CAMERA RAW.  Here is a You Tube explanation:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJali3GRiwM
Dec 08 12 06:01 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
AMBERCOOL
Posts: 1,407
Springfield, Virginia, US


Associate JPEGs for Camera Raw first, which I'm sure you already know how to do.

Then you can use this:

open -a 'Adobe Photoshop CS5.1.app' /Users/me/Pictures/sample.jpg

I don't think you can invoke Camera Raw first because it's a plug-in.  So Photoshop has to open first, I think that's when the Automater would work for you.  Create that batch first and I think that would work too.

You can also shell the open command so that you can use it in any directory and not specify the source JPEG.
Dec 08 12 06:14 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
Jepgs don't automatically open in raw, which is my problem.

They will if you know how to set the preferences. Not knowing how is your problem.

Dec 08 12 07:18 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Paul AI
Posts: 1,046
Shawnee, Oklahoma, US


Peano wrote:
They will if you know how to set the preferences. Not knowing how is your problem.

No, his problem is that everyone else in the thread is an idiot and trolling his post tongue

Dec 08 12 07:25 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,847
Santa Cruz, California, US


Pardon my ignorance, but how does command line exactly relates to Photoshop and why is it so important to OP?
Dec 08 12 07:29 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


So the short summary is: no one here knows.  The long summary is: no one knows and many try to be unhelpful.

I found, independently of the few helpful people here, someone else who had the same problem as me.  He changed the preferences in Photoshop Camera Raw to always open jpegs in raw.  No where near ideal, since I can't choose to open a jpeg as just a jpeg, but it is a far better solution than any I've found so far.
Dec 08 12 07:33 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:
Pardon my ignorance, but how does command line exactly relates to Photoshop and why is it so important to OP?

I'm trying to open jpegs as raw images when I don't have access to the gui from the images, or the images from the gui.  My images are stored on a server that only makes them available via http.  I want to be able to edit images by clicking on the jpegs in my browser and having photoshop start up to edit the downloaded image.  Getting the jpegs into photoshop is easy, but making them open as raw has proven to be quite hard.

Dec 08 12 07:36 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Peano wrote:

They will if you know how to set the preferences. Not knowing how is your problem.

And now all my jpegs open in raw, so I need a command line option to prevent that.  You're not very helpful at all.

Dec 08 12 07:37 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
And now all my jpegs open in raw, so I need a command line option to prevent that.  You're not very helpful at all.

I already gave you a solution to your problem. You rejected it. I'm done with you.

Dec 08 12 07:43 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
KB9NDF
Posts: 861
Indianapolis, Indiana, US


Well, obviously, the rest of us are unhelpful idiots and we should all
be rightly ashamed of ourselves. So to make up for all our insolence,
here is a picture...

http://reneau.smugmug.com/photos/i-43Npnrs/0/O/i-43Npnrs.jpg
Dec 08 12 07:48 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Peano wrote:

I already gave you a solution to your problem. You rejected it. I'm done with you.

Sorry, but no, you gave me no solution to my problem.  You gave me a solution to some made up problem that has no relevance to me.

Dec 08 12 07:49 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,847
Santa Cruz, California, US


Schlake wrote:

I'm trying to open jpegs as raw images when I don't have access to the gui from the images, or the images from the gui.  My images are stored on a server that only makes them available via http.  I want to be able to edit images by clicking on the jpegs in my browser and having photoshop start up to edit the downloaded image.  Getting the jpegs into photoshop is easy, but making them open as raw has proven to be quite hard.

Ok, Go to Preferences > Camera RAW Preferences > JPEG Handling > Set it to: Automatically Open All supported JPEG's

Dec 08 12 07:50 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:

Ok, Go to Preferences > Camera RAW Preferences > JPEG Handling > Set it to: Automatically Open All supported JPEG's

As I said above, I've already done that.  Now I can't open jpegs as just jpegs anymore, and sort of wish I had a command line option to not open them in camera raw now.  But every jpeg in raw is far more useful than never being able to open them in raw.

Dec 08 12 07:53 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
AJScalzitti
Posts: 12,521
Atlanta, Georgia, US


Not all applications have a command line, it usually has to be specifically coded.  Some compilers have a default in their header files to support starting the executable with a %1 argument for a file name.  Even then the developer may not have coded it to accept it.  Given the nature of Bridge it's likely that it accepts some, but they are probably undocumented. 

It just wasn't what Adobe had in mind for how it was to be used (apparently) and as nobody understands why the OP wants to do this it's fairly understandable.
Dec 08 12 07:54 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
Sorry, but no, you gave me no solution to my problem.  You gave me a solution to some made up problem that has no relevance to me.

You said you wanted to be able to open some jpegs in Camera Raw. You later said you want flexibility to open jpegs in other apps, as well. I showed you a way you can do both. But you insist on doing it from the command line. So, as I said before, you're on your own. I'm done with you.

Dec 08 12 07:59 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Peano wrote:

You said you wanted to be able to open some jpegs in Camera Raw. You later said you want flexibility to open jpegs in other apps, as well. I showed you a way you can do both. But you insist on doing it from the command line. So, as I said before, you're on your own. I'm done with you.

I said I wanted to  open jpegs in camera raw from the command line.  You offered no solution to my problem. And, if you stop lying about what you did earlier, then I'm done with you too.  If not, I'll keep correcting you.

Dec 08 12 08:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Peano
Posts: 4,106
Lynchburg, Virginia, US


Schlake wrote:
I said I wanted to  open jpegs in camera raw from the command line.  You offered no solution to my problem. And, if you stop lying about what you did earlier, then I'm done with you too.  If not, I'll keep correcting you.

And I'll remind you again that you're stuck.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/893/stuckpp.jpg

Dec 08 12 08:04 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Krunoslav Stifter
Posts: 3,847
Santa Cruz, California, US


Schlake wrote:
As I said above, I've already done that.  Now I can't open jpegs as just jpegs anymore, and sort of wish I had a command line option to not open them in camera raw now.  But every jpeg in raw is far more useful than never being able to open them in raw.

I guess the problem is in your stubbornness and unwillingness to adapt to the solutions offered and in return you provide arrogant attitude. The rest of us have showed you to solutions to a problem, but you seem to focus only on the problem itself. The problem is not the problem, the problem is the way you see the problem. Do you understand?

You can download the files and open them from Bridge. You can always revert the option back. You can use smart objects, you can use camera raw or Lightroom. You can maybe make a script to create custom settings or... you can do the impossible thing. Change your mind. Either way, I'm not sure if you ever heard about the thing called reputation, but you are not doing it any favours right now. Just saying.

Dec 08 12 08:04 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Schlake
Posts: 2,341
Socorro, New Mexico, US


Krunoslav-Stifter wrote:

I guess the problem is in your stubbornness and unwillingness to adapt to the solutions offered and in return you provide arrogant attitude. The rest of us have showed you to solutions to a problem, but you seem to focus only on the problem itself. The problem is not the problem, the problem is the way you see the problem. Do you understand?

You can download the files and open them from Bridge. You can always revert the option back. You can use smart objects, you can use camera raw or Lightroom. You can maybe make a script to create custom settings or... you can do the impossible thing. Change your mind. Either way, I'm not sure if you ever heard about the thing called reputation, but you are not doing it any favours right now. Just saying.

I'm sorry, if my problem is opening jpegs in camera raw from the command line, than that is my problem.  Looking at the problem differently might change my perspective of it, but it doesn't change the actual problem.  The problem remains that I want a way to open jpegs in camera raw from the command line.  Going off on random tangents about ways I can open jpegs in camera raw that isn't from the command line doesn't help me and isn't useful.  You know why?  Because I don't have any trouble opening jpegs in camera raw from bridge.  No trouble at all.  I can do it fine.  Read what my problem is, offer a solution to my actual problem, or just go away because inventing problems for me to have and then trying to help me isn't actually helpful.

Dec 08 12 08:17 pm  Link  Quote 
12last   Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers