login info join!
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > Adobe CS 3 freeze up! Search   Reply
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,046
Rochester, New York, US


From time to time Adobe CS 3 will freeze up or the tool will just stop working, after I do a extensive editing on just one image. If I am just doing a little editing there is no problem. When I run into a problem I save the image and reopen it to finish my editing with no problem. Anyone familiar with this problem?
Dec 16 12 07:15 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
DraganSutic
Posts: 304
Las Vegas, Nevada, US


terrysphotocountry wrote:
From time to time Adobe CS 3 will freeze up or the tool will just stop working, after I do a extensive editing on just one image. If I am just doing a little editing there is no problem. When I run into a problem I save the image and reopen it to finish my editing with no problem. Anyone familiar with this problem?

Sounds like your computer is running out of RAM

Dec 16 12 07:25 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
NothingIsRealButTheGirl
Posts: 31,986
Los Angeles, California, US


Is it the hand tool? That one used to freeze a lot

https://www.google.com/#hl=en&safe=acti … +photoshop
Dec 16 12 07:27 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,046
Rochester, New York, US


DraganSutic wrote:

Sounds like your computer is running out of RAM

I found out I have plenty of free hard drive space. I had around 1 TB. on my Hard drive. It was my DDR! My PC guy said I might already be at the max? He to my PC to check it out. He might just have to start building me a new PC.  That all I want for Christmas! smile` Thanks people!

Dec 19 12 12:57 am  Link  Quote 
Digital Artist
Andreea Cernestean
Posts: 495
Baia Mare, Maramureş, Romania


Memory and hard drive space are different things. Photoshop is a real memory hogger, why I'm still keeping to my CS4 instead of upgrading to 6. I don't get freezes, but sometimes I run into the "Could not complete your request because the scratch disks are full". Are you getting any errors that accompany your freezes? Does it ever unfreeze, like it stutters for a while then works again?

It's predefined actions or filters that usually seem to freeze up Photoshop because of the many tasks performed in a fast sequence automatically, especially at a high resolution, but usually if you leave it be for a bit it will start working again once it completes the task.
Dec 19 12 02:06 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Pictus
Posts: 957
Teresópolis, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


Andreea Cernestean,

Basically the difference between CS6 and CS4 is the GPU, so if CS4 works but CS6 not, you got very HIGH probability for a problem related to the GPU, the most common is outdated driver. CS6 GPU FAQ

Troubleshoot system errors, freezes in Windows or Mac OS 10.x

Check the HD for problems and delete the junk with Disk CleanUP
Much better than Disk CleanUP is CCleaner, just do not mess with the registry stuff.

Keep the HD defraged

Optimize performance | Photoshop CS4, CS5, CS6

IF all fail, try to use CS6 with GPU disabled, go to menu Edit>Preferences>Performance and uncheck the Use Graphics Processor.
Dec 19 12 08:16 am  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
pixel dimension ilusion
Posts: 1,204
Brussels, Brussels, Belgium


Dec 19 12 06:08 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
rp_photo
Posts: 42,488
Houston, Texas, US


terrysphotocountry wrote:
From time to time Adobe CS 3 will freeze up or the tool will just stop working, after I do a extensive editing on just one image. If I am just doing a little editing there is no problem. When I run into a problem I save the image and reopen it to finish my editing with no problem. Anyone familiar with this problem?

For me, the patch and other tools will freeze or only move after a long delay, in which case I save, close, and restart Photoshop, which resolves the issue anywhere from hours to days.

Dec 19 12 06:26 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,046
Rochester, New York, US


rp_photo wrote:

For me, the patch and other tools will freeze or only move after a long delay, in which case I save, close, and restart Photoshop, which resolves the issue anywhere from hours to days.

Thats also what I found. I hope my new pc will no longer have a problem. "we will see" smile`

Dec 19 12 07:01 pm  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers