login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > Dear Phase ONE . . . Search   Reply
Photographer
Ronald N. Tan
Posts: 2,739
Los Angeles, California, US


I really wish you'd do your sales soon, because I wanted to upgrade to 7 PRO from 6 PRO.

Thanks!

Your long time fan,

Ronald

PS: Anyone else here waiting for a possible discount to upgrade? I was looking forward to their Black Friday and Christmas deals, but no luck. :-(
Dec 29 12 08:44 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
descending chain
Posts: 1,136
Fullerton, California, US


Come on, Ron.  It's only $89.  Just buy it.
Dec 29 12 09:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ronald N. Tan
Posts: 2,739
Los Angeles, California, US


I am a Scrooge. :-)


descending chain wrote:
Come on, Ron.  It's only $89.  Just buy it.

Dec 29 12 10:07 pm  Link  Quote 
guide forum
Photographer
Giacomo Cirrincioni
Posts: 21,042
New York, New York, US


It's well worth the $89....

Hell, it's worth the retail price for the full version.
Dec 29 12 10:46 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
D M E C K E R T
Posts: 4,786
Las Vegas, Nevada, US


also waiting for a sale of any kind.

i'm sort of looking at an excuse to not buy LR. i'm irritated i missed amazon's $75 deal, so i need to take it out on someone. lol

i mean...i could just scan my work badge and get the student/teacher edition of LR for $75, but that requires doing something.

plus...this way i get better stuff anyway.
Dec 30 12 12:48 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Dan Brady
Posts: 605
Perth, Western Australia, Australia


Have you tried the trial version? I have had a lot of issues with it crashing hmm
Dec 30 12 12:58 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Faze1 photography
Posts: 562
Lawndale, California, US


Dan Brady wrote:
Have you tried the trial version? I have had a lot of issues with it crashing hmm

+1!! I thought it was just me!

Dec 30 12 01:02 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
photoimager
Posts: 4,825
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom


D M E C K E R T wrote:
i mean...i could just scan my work badge and get the student/teacher edition of LR for $75, but that requires doing something.

plus...this way i get better stuff anyway.

The software is identical, or at least it is with the CS packages for education purchasers. Adobe don't even have the 'home and non-commercial use only' warning integrated in the software that Microsoft has.

Dec 30 12 01:08 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
realistgva
Posts: 429
Plan-les-Ouates, Geneva, Switzerland


I could no longer wait and spent the 169 for the 5 user license upgrade.

A sale would have been great but working without CP7 was worse
Dec 30 12 06:18 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
TheScarletLetterSeries
Posts: 3,438
Carmel, California, US


Minor C1Pro updates are always free.  For major version updates, there is an upgrade cost, and I've never seen the version upgrade cost lower than it is currently (I've been with C 1 Pro since ver 3).

This particular update is worthwhile.  The new processing algorithms make it like having a new camera!  I processed some old RAW files from 2007 (Canon 5D classic) and the difference in comparable 60" prints was dramatic.  It was like having photographed the image with a higher megapixel camera in 2007!  Very noticeable.

You already know there are a host of other improvements as well.  I like the ease of applying LCC for images photographed with my IQ180 and technical camera with movements.  The speed of processing is a bonus.

Stability issues (I never really had any) seem to have been addressed with ver 7.01.  I expect version 7 to fully mature with future minor updates, much as previous versions have benefited, from user feedback.

Buy it Ron.  You're wasting time and money by waiting!  : )
Dec 30 12 07:10 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
D M E C K E R T
Posts: 4,786
Las Vegas, Nevada, US


photoimager wrote:

The software is identical, or at least it is with the CS packages for education purchasers. Adobe don't even have the 'home and non-commercial use only' warning integrated in the software that Microsoft has.

indeed they are.

i'm just being lazy and looking for an excuse to get something other than lightroom. lol

Dec 30 12 06:17 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
QuaeVide
Posts: 5,286
Pacifica, California, US


The main problem I've had with 7 & 7.0.1 is a long delay (10 seconds) in updating the preview after I make an adjustment, if images are processing in the background. Used to be a much nicer balance in 6.
Dec 30 12 07:34 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ronald N. Tan
Posts: 2,739
Los Angeles, California, US


OK! There.

PhaseONE received my 99.00 USD.


TheScarletLetterSeries wrote:
Minor C1Pro updates are always free.  For major version updates, there is an upgrade cost, and I've never seen the version upgrade cost lower than it is currently (I've been with C 1 Pro since ver 3).

This particular update is worthwhile.  The new processing algorithms make it like having a new camera!  I processed some old RAW files from 2007 (Canon 5D classic) and the difference in comparable 60" prints was dramatic.  It was like having photographed the image with a higher megapixel camera in 2007!  Very noticeable.

You already know there are a host of other improvements as well.  I like the ease of applying LCC for images photographed with my IQ180 and technical camera with movements.  The speed of processing is a bonus.

Stability issues (I never really had any) seem to have been addressed with ver 7.01.  I expect version 7 to fully mature with future minor updates, much as previous versions have benefited, from user feedback.

Buy it Ron.  You're wasting time and money by waiting!  : )

Jan 02 13 07:47 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
WMcK
Posts: 5,257
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom


I read this post and decided to download the trial version of Capture 1 v7.01. I was absolutely amazed at the quality - huge improvements in fine detail and noise levels over ACR. The colours are more natural too. At least I have 60 days to decide whether I could ever go back to ACR now! It is like having a new camera.
Jan 03 13 04:07 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
J O H N A L L A N
Posts: 9,831
Santa Ana, California, US


$89-99??

They must be in trouble.
The last time I looked (albeit it's been a few years), It was like three-hundred and something. Of course, that was at the time of LR1 or 2.
Jan 03 13 04:13 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
RONALD NZ TAN
Posts: 2,381
San Francisco, California, US


Hi John,

The price is for the upgrade. I do indeed concur with you that the price to C1PRO dropped to directly address it competing product: Adobe Lightroom.


John Allan wrote:
$89-99??

They must be in trouble.
The last time I looked (albeit it's been a few years), It was like three-hundred and something. Of course, that was at the time of LR1 or 2.

Jan 03 13 04:15 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
J O H N A L L A N
Posts: 9,831
Santa Ana, California, US


RNZTAN wrote:
Hi John,

The price is for the upgrade. I do indeed concur with you that the price to C1PRO dropped to directly address it competing product: Adobe Lightroom.



Oh - that makes more sense.

Jan 03 13 04:16 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
RONALD NZ TAN
Posts: 2,381
San Francisco, California, US


C1PRO has always been amazing, even when their version was 3.7.8. Also at the time, there was no LR and so the software commanded the hefty premium fee of 500 USD—that is a few dollars shy from the complete retail package of Photoshop! At the time, C1PRO 3.XX did NOTHING but process RAW. You could adjust the exposure, white-balance, and settings and that was about it. The basis settings to fix your "oops" exposure moments during the photography session. There was no variants or "virtual copies" in the LR terminology. If you wanted to create a monochromatic variant, you have to manually duplicate your RAW file and apply the monochromatic settings to taste.

When LR 1.X came into the scene, great for consumers! C1PRO released their version 4 and that included basis lens correction, e.g. chromatic aberration.

WMcK wrote:
I read this post and decided to download the trial version of Capture 1 v7.01. I was absolutely amazed at the quality - huge improvements in fine detail and noise levels over ACR. The colours are more natural too. At least I have 60 days to decide whether I could ever go back to ACR now! It is like having a new camera.

Jan 03 13 04:22 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
C00P
Posts: 536
Anaheim, California, US


Ronald Nyein Zaw Tan wrote:
PS: Anyone else here waiting for a possible discount to upgrade? I was looking forward to their Black Friday and Christmas deals, but no luck. :-(

I was hoping they would do it again as well. Think last time it was half off.  But....
I finally had to just upgrade.

Tried the 10% off code that I'd gotten from the local Phase rep and got a msg saying it was no longer valid. Emailed the rep and they replied that Phase had globally killed all the discount codes on 11/1. Downside, looks like no discounts for a while. Upside, it's still worth the upgrade.

Jan 04 13 01:53 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Smedley Whiplash
Posts: 17,276
Billings, Montana, US


I dunno... I just got 6 awhile ago (right before they did 7) (and less then 7 days difference to qualify for the free upgrade...)

Anyhoo, I find myself only using it for certain jobs, but using LR4 for most jobs. Not because the quality of pics it makes aren't just awesome, but I kinda really hate the GUI, and all the stuff that's far too complicated to even bother to learn about. (like the freaky color editor thing)

The other thing I find that puts me off is the lack of users sharing different recipes like you find among LR4 users. Sure, a lot of the recipes suck... but once in awhile you come across something useful.

And... I'm not sure if many plugins work with it. Not that they are convenient in LR4... I'd like to be able to apply a plugin on a series of images without having to open each one independently, or have to process them... I want to see it in the preview before I waste lots of time or HD space on it.
Jan 04 13 02:49 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ronald N. Tan
Posts: 2,739
Los Angeles, California, US


MAN!!! You're missing out on the Color Editor. Once I got how to use it, it was like . . . BAM!!! SO GOOD!

It is great for fixing skin dis-colorization on beauty shots. Even our bodies' don't have consistent skin color. What you normally do is to head over into the "Skin Tones" and sample the color you want to fix. Experiment with the sliders, especially with the smooth and uniformity.

Give it a go and once you get the Color Editor, you cannot work without it.


Smedley Whiplash wrote:
I dunno... I just got 6 awhile ago (right before they did 7) (and less then 7 days difference to qualify for the free upgrade...)

Anyhoo, I find myself only using it for certain jobs, but using LR4 for most jobs. Not because the quality of pics it makes aren't just awesome, but I kinda really hate the GUI, and all the stuff that's far too complicated to even bother to learn about. (like the freaky color editor thing)

The other thing I find that puts me off is the lack of users sharing different recipes like you find among LR4 users. Sure, a lot of the recipes suck... but once in awhile you come across something useful.

And... I'm not sure if many plugins work with it. Not that they are convenient in LR4... I'd like to be able to apply a plugin on a series of images without having to open each one independently, or have to process them... I want to see it in the preview before I waste lots of time or HD space on it.

Jan 04 13 03:03 pm  Link  Quote 
guide forum
Photographer
Giacomo Cirrincioni
Posts: 21,042
New York, New York, US


Shooting a still life editorial (boots).  Capture Pilot for the iPad is so cool.  It's not as fast as I would like it to be, but it's a lot faster than I thought it would be (files coming from a Leaf back).
Jan 05 13 12:45 pm  Link  Quote 
guide forum
Photographer
Giacomo Cirrincioni
Posts: 21,042
New York, New York, US


WMcK wrote:
I read this post and decided to download the trial version of Capture 1 v7.01. I was absolutely amazed at the quality - huge improvements in fine detail and noise levels over ACR. The colours are more natural too. At least I have 60 days to decide whether I could ever go back to ACR now! It is like having a new camera.

I just started to use it to reprocess some photos I shot in Senegal a few years ago (portraits).  I shot both film and digital while there - film for me and digital for the assignment - and we wound up using all the film shots for both as I wasn't nearly as happy with the digital files.  I haven't gone to deep into the rework yet, but so far what I'm able to do in C1 is blowing me away vs. what I was able to accomplish back then.

Jan 05 13 12:47 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Smedley Whiplash
Posts: 17,276
Billings, Montana, US


Ronald Nyein Zaw Tan wrote:
MAN!!! You're missing out on the Color Editor. Once I got how to use it, it was like . . . BAM!!! SO GOOD!

It is great for fixing skin dis-colorization on beauty shots. Even our bodies' don't have consistent skin color. What you normally do is to head over into the "Skin Tones" and sample the color you want to fix. Experiment with the sliders, especially with the smooth and uniformity.

Give it a go and once you get the Color Editor, you cannot work without it.



I think I'm gonna need a tutorial for the color editor. It's not easy to figure out.

Jan 05 13 01:53 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
RONALD NZ TAN
Posts: 2,381
San Francisco, California, US


Try the steps I laid out. Try to find an image where you'd want the skin dis-colorization to match. You will get used to it trying the sliders in the "Skin Tones" tab of C1PRO.

Smedley Whiplash wrote:

I think I'm gonna need a tutorial for the color editor. It's not easy to figure out.

Jan 05 13 01:57 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jim Lafferty
Posts: 1,906
Brooklyn, New York, US


Smedley Whiplash wrote:

I think I'm gonna need a tutorial for the color editor. It's not easy to figure out.

There is a dedicated PhaseOne channel on YouTube and at least one clip specific to the Color Editor you should check out. It's great.

Jan 05 13 04:55 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
QuaeVide
Posts: 5,286
Pacifica, California, US


Just found that reload meta-data doesn't seem to work in 7.0.1.
Jan 06 13 02:01 pm  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers