login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > Nikon D-300 shutter speed ( Opps) Search   Reply
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,061
Rochester, New York, US


Is it possible to lock the shutter speed from changing during a photo session in the camera's softwear? I have a thumb that like to change it during a session. I only notice the change on my cameras rear viewer.
Thanks!
Jan 03 13 05:26 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jhono Bashian
Posts: 2,432
Cleveland, Ohio, US


If your choosing the shutter priority mode you have chosen the shutter speed you want to use for the duration.
Jan 03 13 05:40 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Kaouthia
Posts: 3,152
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom


terrysphotocountry wrote:
Is it possible to lock the shutter speed from changing during a photo session in the camera's softwear? I have a thumb that like to change it during a session. I only notice the change on my cameras rear viewer.
Thanks!

Yes, just pop some gaffer tape over the dials. wink

The D300 doesn't have a lock option like the D3/4.

Jan 03 13 05:44 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
terrysphotocountry
Posts: 4,061
Rochester, New York, US


Kaouthia wrote:

Yes, just pop some gaffer tape over the dials. wink

The D300 doesn't have a lock option like the D3/4.

Thanks. If I did not need my thumb..... Lets not go there. Thanks a Lot Kaouthia

Jan 03 13 05:47 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Gaze at Photography
Posts: 4,371
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, US


I put a piece of tape over the rear wheel during shoots
Jan 03 13 08:16 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
AVD AlphaDuctions
Posts: 10,526
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada


in another thread someone had a solution for the mode dial up top
http://www.modelmayhem.com/po.php?thread_id=873796

if all these dials and wheels are loose maybe Nikon can tighten them a bit?
Jan 03 13 09:05 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Yingwah Productions
Posts: 1,341
New York, New York, US


My 300 is in the shop, but my D800 has under custom setting f7 the option to lock shutter and aperture. I believe all nikon pro level cameras have the option.
Jan 04 13 02:05 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Extrosy
Posts: 656
Minneapolis, Minnesota, US


I can't recall, but you might be able to swap front/rear dials so the shutter is in the front.
Jan 04 13 02:14 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Lithium Imagery
Posts: 75
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia


If it's a case of you preferring to use your thumb for changing aperture rather than shutter speed, you can swap the function of the dials between front and back on the D300.
Jan 04 13 02:15 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
WCR3
Posts: 1,016
Houston, Texas, US


I've lost parts of images because I inadvertently changed the shutter speed with my thumb to something above the sync speed. It's particularly bad when you don't realize it during the shoot. Like others above, I've gone to immobilizing the rear wheel with gaffer tape once it's properly dialed in.

If you swap the function of the wheels as some have suggested you'll still have image on the whole frame, though it might be darker or lighter than you'd like. I may give that a try.
Jan 04 13 09:35 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers