login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > how? 580 ex ii, ste2, but without ettl Search   Reply
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


Hi MM,  is it possible to wirelessly trigger a 580 ex ii with a st-e2 but have it manual full power so there is no ettl?

When its in Master, I can get M 1/1 but no connection to st-e2.  When its in slave I can trigger from st-e2 but it stays constantly on ettl.

If it is possible, can you please give the the for-dummies step by step?
Feb 05 13 07:17 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


I'm guessing that the only way is with pocket wizard or powersync16 or a cable. Hoping not to spend and use the st-e2 that I already own if I can help it
Feb 05 13 07:19 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
ontherocks
Posts: 22,554
Salem, Oregon, US


get a pair of these:
http://www.calumetphoto.com/eng/product … ms/cf00870

mine just arrived and so far they have worked flawlessly, both with my alienbees and with my off-camera speedlites (plus you can have another speed-lite on-camera in manual or ttl mode).

the infrared thing work indoors with low ceilings. otherwise it's iffy.
Feb 05 13 07:45 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
David Nelson Photograph
Posts: 348
San Antonio, Texas, US


The main advantage of the St-e2 is to shoot using ETTL, however, if you want to shoot in manual mode, set the flash to manual and the flash will fire in manual (the ettl lamp will still be lit) mode.  The  disadvantage of shooting manual using the st-e2 is that you have to set the power ratio from the flash.

Personally, I use 15 or 30 foot OCF cord and I then I can set manual, ettl, high speed sync from my camera's flash settings and can also adjust the power output of each flash.
Feb 05 13 09:09 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
AspirationImages
Posts: 184
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia


jdmax wrote:
Hi MM,  is it possible to wirelessly trigger a 580 ex ii with a st-e2 but have it manual full power so there is no ettl?

Yes. Get a piece of film (like the stuff they used before digital) and cut it to the size of the hot shoe so that it slides in. Punch a hole in the middle so that only the centre terminal is contacted by the ST-E2. Fire away.

Feb 06 13 03:34 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Warren Leimbach
Posts: 2,671
Tampa, Florida, US


AspirationImages wrote:

Yes. Get a piece of film (like the stuff they used before digital) and cut it to the size of the hot shoe so that it slides in. Punch a hole in the middle so that only the centre terminal is contacted by the ST-E2. Fire away.

Brilliant!

Feb 06 13 05:40 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


Coool trick. I love forums. Thanks MM for all the replies
Feb 06 13 05:49 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
MC Photo
Posts: 4,144
New York, New York, US


jdmax wrote:
Hi MM,  is it possible to wirelessly trigger a 580 ex ii with a st-e2 but have it manual full power so there is no ettl?

When its in Master, I can get M 1/1 but no connection to st-e2.  When its in slave I can trigger from st-e2 but it stays constantly on ettl.

If it is possible, can you please give the the for-dummies step by step?

Which camera body are you using? It's definitely possible. You might have to do it from the camera's menu.

Feb 06 13 07:45 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


twoharts wrote:
get a pair of these:
http://www.calumetphoto.com/eng/product … ms/cf00870

mine just arrived and so far they have worked flawlessly, both with my alienbees and with my off-camera speedlites (plus you can have another speed-lite on-camera in manual or ttl mode).

the infrared thing work indoors with low ceilings. otherwise it's iffy.

Good find. Now on my 'to buy' list, thanks!


MC Photo wrote:
Which camera body are you using? It's definitely possible. You might have to do it from the camera's menu.

7d and rebel

Feb 07 13 11:34 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
David Nelson Photograph
Posts: 348
San Antonio, Texas, US


The flash determines the mode in which it fires, not the st-e2 or any other trigger.
If you've got a Canon 7D you have no need for an st-e2 the wireless flash control on your 7D is far superior to the st-e2 it can fire as many as 3 groups of 4 flashes, and it is radio controlled, no need for line of sight.
Feb 07 13 11:55 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jez Sullivan
Posts: 122
London, England, United Kingdom


Ive just got the Yongnuo 622 C transceivers and Ive been really impressed. I used to use the STE2 and its prone to failure in certain situations, its mainly how overpriced it was that annoyed me.
Feb 07 13 01:59 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


I'm actually starting to hate my st2e, r2d2 whatever, with its non-standard battery shape as I prefer AA rechargeable eneloops. 

I do like setting ratios on it though smile
Feb 07 13 02:02 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Rudy Winston
Posts: 26
Chester, Vermont, US


To answer the original question:  YES, it is possible, with an obscure feature on speedlites like the 580EX II, 430EX II, and even the new 600EX-RT if you're using it for optical wireless flash.  It's the "Independent Manual Slave mode".

The reason the original question came up is that unlike using a speedlite as a "master" unit, with the ST-E2 transmitter, there's no flash mode switch.  And, if you simply set a 580EX II (for instance) into Slave mode, and then press its Mode button the way you normally do, it will not stop on Manual flash mode, as it would when being used as a stand-alone flash on the camera.

Here's the trick -- and it *is* documented in the ST-E2 instruction books, but easy to overlook:  Press AND HOLD DOWN the slave unit's flash Mode button for two seconds or longer, until the "E-TTL" icon on the flash's LCD panel turns into a blinking "M".  The flash is now set to be an INDEPENDENT, Manual-exposure slave unit, which can be triggered by any EOS system master unit, including the ST-E2.  You set the power of this slave unit, from full 1/1 to any of the fractional manual power settings.

This is an easy way to allow mixing one or more manual mode flashes in an otherwise all-E-TTL auto flash set-up (great for stuff like hair lights, accent lights, and so on), or to simply shoot an all-manual set-up when firing via the ST-E2.

Give it a try;  you'll find it works quite well.  Good luck!
Feb 10 13 06:59 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
MiGel
Posts: 656
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany


Rudy Winston wrote:
To answer the original question

Brilliant! Exactely what was asked and really helpful! Learned something myself as well!

Feb 11 13 08:41 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
jdmax
Posts: 110
New York, New York, US


Doing some testing tonight ...

AspirationImages wrote:
Yes. Get a piece of film (like the stuff they used before digital) and cut it to the size of the hot shoe so that it slides in. Punch a hole in the middle so that only the centre terminal is contacted by the ST-E2. Fire away.

Tried this, yes the flash fires but the sync is way off, flash fires a second later after the fact.  Its sounds like a cool hack but I'm guessing one of the other pins must also be exposed for sync to work?

Rudy Winston wrote:
Press AND HOLD DOWN the slave unit's flash Mode button for two seconds or longer, until the "E-TTL" icon on the flash's LCD panel turns into a blinking "M".  The flash is now set to be an INDEPENDENT, Manual-exposure slave unit, which can be triggered by any EOS system master unit, including the ST-E2.

This worked brilliantly, now I have two 580 exii's that are my mini portable mono's !!  That means a lot to me, forever in your debt.

Feb 13 13 06:57 pm  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply