login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > Controlling ganged speedlights under umbrella ? Search   Reply
Photographer
Images By Joseph
Posts: 886
Naperville, Illinois, US


Hello

For those if you who have done this I would like to gang three if my Canon speedlights (580ex,430exII,430 ex) under an umbrella to get more power and faster recycle time.
I know I can set them on manuel and set the power level all in dlave mode but I would like to be able to use my pocket wizards to control them. I have three flex's, a mini TT1, two PW II's and a PW III
Mar 26 13 09:34 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
sgnr photo
Posts: 254
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada


Images By Joseph wrote:
Hello

For those if you who have done this I would like to gang three if my Canon speedlights (580ex,430exII,430 ex) under an umbrella to get more power and faster recycle time.
I know I can set them on manuel and set the power level all in dlave mode but I would like to be able to use my pocket wizards to control them. I have three flex's, a mini TT1, two PW II's and a PW III

If you have an optical slave mode, why not trigger one light with the PW and have the other set to fire as an optical slave. I do this with my Nikon flashes, so I would imagine Canon would let you do the same.

Mar 26 13 10:44 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Joseph William
Posts: 2,022
Chicago, Illinois, US


sgnr photo wrote:
If you have an optical slave mode, why not trigger one light with the PW and have the other set to fire as an optical slave. I do this with my Nikon flashes, so I would imagine Canon would let you do the same.

This is what I do, but OP wants to be able to control flash out put from his camera, and be able use TTL.  Some thing I would like to be able to do.  Joe McNally is awesome at this, and but he uses Nikon (as do I).

If I could afford flexes I would be working on figuring this out.

Mar 26 13 11:57 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ian Brooks Photography
Posts: 577
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada


I can't help you with TTL, but I fire 8 flashes with a Mini TT1 and 2 Plus IIs.

Radio Shack mono splitters. Three splitters per Plus II.  One port becomes 2, then becomes 4.  Then each flash gets it's own sync cord.  Four flashes from one trigger.
Mar 26 13 07:22 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Images By Joseph
Posts: 886
Naperville, Illinois, US


Ian Brooks Photography wrote:
I can't help you with TTL, but I fire 8 flashes with a Mini TT1 and 2 Plus IIs.

Radio Shack mono splitters. Three splitters per Plus II.  One port becomes 2, then becomes 4.  Then each flash gets it's own sync cord.  Four flashes from one trigger.

Nice set up but could you not, as suggested, use a Mini TT1 and one Plus II on a single flash and then put the other two in slave mode so that all fire at once on whatever manuel power setting you select?

Mar 26 13 07:34 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Photomezzo
Posts: 238
Venice, California, US


If I understand your question correctly, the pocket wizard AC3 (which mounts to the TT1) will control the power output of three different zones (i.e. flashes mounted to your 3 flexes). Ironically, unlike the flex's and TT1's, it actually works as advertised.
Mar 26 13 08:20 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Hi_Spade Photography
Posts: 897
Darlington, South Carolina, US


Photomezzo wrote:
If I understand your question correctly, the pocket wizard AC3 (which mounts to the TT1) will control the power output of three different zones (i.e. flashes mounted to your 3 flexes). Ironically, unlike the flex's and TT1's, it actually works as advertised.

+1 smile.

Mar 26 13 08:35 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
photo212grapher
Posts: 1,550
Saint Louis, Missouri, US


Images By Joseph wrote:
Hello

For those if you who have done this I would like to gang three if my Canon speedlights (580ex,430exII,430 ex) under an umbrella to get more power and faster recycle time.
I know I can set them on manuel and set the power level all in dlave mode but I would like to be able to use my pocket wizards to control them. I have three flex's, a mini TT1, two PW II's and a PW III

Three speedlites and three flex's? One flex per speedlite.
Place mini on camera. ETTL should work fine, or get a AC3 to go on the mini to control the exposure of each flex as a whole or separately.

Mar 26 13 08:43 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Joseph William
Posts: 2,022
Chicago, Illinois, US


Photomezzo wrote:
If I understand your question correctly, the pocket wizard AC3 (which mounts to the TT1) will control the power output of three different zones (i.e. flashes mounted to your 3 flexes). Ironically, unlike the flex's and TT1's, it actually works as advertised.

Oh I had not seen this before... Interesting, gotta get some money so I can buy a bunch of new stuff

Mar 26 13 08:44 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ian Brooks Photography
Posts: 577
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada


Images By Joseph wrote:

Nice set up but could you not, as suggested, use a Mini TT1 and one Plus II on a single flash and then put the other two in slave mode so that all fire at once on whatever manuel power setting you select?

You probably could. I use this set up all winter long while shooting ice hockey (no modifier), so when I put them in a soft box or umbrella, I just do the same thing.  Cause I know it works.

Splitters are only a couple bucks each.  PC cords are $10 to $15 each.

Mar 27 13 06:45 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ian Brooks Photography
Posts: 577
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada


Ian Brooks Photography wrote:
I can't help you with TTL, but I fire 8 flashes with a Mini TT1 and 2 Plus IIs.

Radio Shack mono splitters. Three splitters per Plus II.  One port becomes 2, then becomes 4.  Then each flash gets it's own sync cord.  Four flashes from one trigger.

I should note that at mid-day I will typically shoot at 1/2 power, indoors or sunset 1/4 power.  I have only required full power once, on a beach in the Bahamas.

Mar 27 13 08:29 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Herman Surkis
Posts: 8,780
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada


I think the OP wants to control the power of ALL the flashes, remotely.
Doable, but not cheap.
To just fire all of them, fairly easy to do.
On possibility to have some control, is to have 2 on manual, and control the power of the master. Only gives control from full to 2/3rds power, but better then nothing. But can be done with what the OP now has.
Mar 27 13 12:30 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Images By Joseph
Posts: 886
Naperville, Illinois, US


Herman Surkis wrote:
I think the OP wants to control the power of ALL the flashes, remotely.
Doable, but not cheap.
To just fire all of them, fairly easy to do.
On possibility to have some control, is to have 2 on manual, and control the power of the master. Only gives control from full to 2/3rds power, but better then nothing. But can be done with what the OP now has.

Actually Pocket Wizard wrote back, how about that! If I am willing to use my three PW Flex units and my Mini TT1 I can control the lights any way I desire using their AC3 zone controller. You are all correct, this is not a cheap solution but I have the equipment so might as well use it.
Thanks for everyone's help, it looks like this post has helped one or two other photographers that are looking at doing something similar. But there are many ways to do this I have found out.

Mar 27 13 01:33 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ian Brooks Photography
Posts: 577
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada


Herman Surkis wrote:
I think the OP wants to control the power of ALL the flashes, remotely.
Doable, but not cheap.
To just fire all of them, fairly easy to do.
On possibility to have some control, is to have 2 on manual, and control the power of the master. Only gives control from full to 2/3rds power, but better then nothing. But can be done with what the OP now has.

Hangs head in shame... I totally missed that the OP had THREE Flexes. 
Having 3 Flexes is the answer.  End of discussion.
It must be that I am too cheap and would be searching for a solution/work around.

Mar 27 13 02:57 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Thomas H Opitz
Posts: 12
London, England, United Kingdom


Don't throw stones, please - but 3 flashes under one umbrella with three bi-directional remote triggers - wouldn't an Elinchrom Ranger RQ be much cheaper? Also remote controllable (although not TTL), about 3 times as much power, any light former you want on this planet? Hardly any more weight, and much less fideling?
Mar 27 13 03:09 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Images By Joseph
Posts: 886
Naperville, Illinois, US


Thomas H Opitz wrote:
Don't throw stones, please - but 3 flashes under one umbrella with three bi-directional remote triggers - wouldn't an Elinchrom Ranger RQ be much cheaper? Also remote controllable (although not TTL), about 3 times as much power, any light former you want on this planet? Hardly any more weight, and much less fideling?

Elinchrom is not cheap but still less expensive than what was discussed here. I guess the solution is to work with what you already have instead of spending more money on a "better" solution.
There are so many ways we can spend money on photography, as we all know, and fewer ways to make money.

Mar 27 13 03:55 pm  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply