login info join!
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > Would this be a good computer? Search   Reply
Photographer
RINALDI
Posts: 2,415
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands


Used the Search and found out that most replies are saying that it's model/system specific, so I figured out to simply ask it here with a datasheet.

http://www.paradigit.nl/paradigit/produ … fault.aspx

Sorry its in Dutch, click on the tab "Specificaties" for the datasheet.


What it need to do:

CS6 PS, IL
CS6 AE, PP

It would be nice if it can do:

Any (or even all) of the above plus some extra things open like Facebook or Word etc.


It has an onboard GPU, but, this package comes with a discreet GPU with 2G mem; 8G RAM. How does this stand against my needs?

The CPU clocks 2.2, this seems rather low of am I missing some knowledge?


Is this worth it/overkill/underperforming/etc? Any feedback is welcome.

Thanks smile
May 03 13 12:54 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Good Egg Productions
Posts: 15,113
Orlando, Florida, US


I would think it would be adequate.

Here's my rule of thumb for complete new computer purchases or rebuilds.  If you will not get at least 2x your current productivity out of it, it's not worth it.  But that's just my rule.

Usually, that means jumping a generation (at least) of processor and memory, and at least twice as fast performance out of the video card(s).  Generally, that requires a motherboard upgrade that often brings with it the newer and faster I/O ports.

But from what I see there, that rig should have no problem running what you want to run.  16gigs is probably a worthy upgrade though.  You MIGHT run into some slowdowns with the 8gigs if you work with large files or many layers.
May 03 13 01:00 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
RINALDI
Posts: 2,415
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands


Good Egg Productions wrote:
I would think it would be adequate.

Here's my rule of thumb for complete new computer purchases or rebuilds.  If you will not get at least 2x your current productivity out of it, it's not worth it.  But that's just my rule.

Usually, that means jumping a generation (at least) of processor and memory, and at least twice as fast performance out of the video card(s).  Generally, that requires a motherboard upgrade that often brings with it the newer and faster I/O ports.

But from what I see there, that rig should have no problem running what you want to run.  16gigs is probably a worthy upgrade though.  You MIGHT run into some slowdowns with the 8gigs if you work with large files or many layers.

Double the tech, definitely! My current system is 5 years old, 32bit, 4Gig RAM and 2.4 on the clock. Don't make me say the OS ;-)

The thing is, the requirements these days are way heavier as well so it kinds of kills the tech advantage. Aside from adding RAM, what would be other points of focus on these components?

May 03 13 01:24 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
Pictus
Posts: 961
Teresópolis, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


You do not need a discrete graphics for Photoshop, the on-board graphics like the Intel HD4000 or the integrated HD6550d from the AMD A6 is ok, but right now for Adobe Premiere CS6 you will need a Nvidia graphic card  http://www.studio1productions.com/Artic … ereCS5.htm
So, 16 giga for RAM and a Nvivida graphic card will be better.

Some benchs to give an idea of speed:
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/cpu- … ,3169.html
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-11/ … ibble.html
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/25

BTW, you will find many topics about this in
http://www.dpreview.com/search/forums?q … titles=yes
May 04 13 12:14 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Richard Vallon Jr
Posts: 3
New Orleans, Louisiana, US


go for the 16GB of RAM!
May 05 13 07:44 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
PhotosByNC
Posts: 13
Las Vegas, Nevada, US


I would also say get as much RAM as possible and an SSD for even more performance.
May 05 13 09:44 pm  Link  Quote 
Retoucher
FLEXmanta
Posts: 1,001
Madrid, Madrid, Spain


It's not only that it will underperform so much (cause it will), but also that obsolescence is just around the corner for that computer.

Go intel but wait a little. 4th generation i7 are about to be released in a matter of weeks and also current 3rd gen i7's prices will drop.
May 06 13 10:04 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Leonard Gee Photography
Posts: 16,080
Sacramento, California, US


For CS6 After Effects and Premiere in HD, you will need some processing power for rendering and encoding. One of the issues you need to watch for is the power supply. If you ever upgrade to more disks or more powerful video card, especially if you want a second dedicated GPU - this wouldn't have enough power.

For Photoshop, it will work. Not so much for extensive video.
May 06 13 11:57 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
RINALDI
Posts: 2,415
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands


Thanks to all replies. I went for a heavier machine and way over budget, damn those luring specs and beautiful packaging! wink

I now have:

- 3rd gen I5 quad core at 3Ghz
- 6Gb RAM
- Geforce 650Ti

Based on a ready-made build, so yes, I had to upgrade power from 350W to 500W, just to get the GPU card working.

Haven't tried Adobe yet, but Call of Duty Black Ops II is playing very well, even in stereoscopic 3D smile Didn't even know my card is able to do that with something simple as blue/red 3d glasses. Luckily I have one that came with my SI Swimsuit 3D edition tongue

I am also surprised being able to adapt fairly quick to W8, although, I switch back and forth to desktop view to speed up what I am looking for.
May 06 13 02:07 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Jakov Markovic
Posts: 1,077
Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia


I would say get a used Mac. It won't be any good for games, but it will make your day to day life easier, but I'm sure the one you picked willl serve you well indeed.
May 19 13 05:15 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply



main | browse | casting/travel | forums | shout box | help | advertising | contests | share | join the mayhem

more modelmayhem on: | | | edu

©2006-2014 ModelMayhem.com. All Rights Reserved.
MODEL MAYHEM is a registered trademark.
Toggle Worksafe Mode: Off | On
Terms | Privacy | Careers