login info join!
Forums > Digital Art and Retouching > CS3 and Photoshop CS6 Search   Reply
Photographer
picturephotos
Posts: 521
Toronto, Ontario, Canada


I'm running Creative Suite 3 on one computer, and I was planning to install Photoshop CS6 (I'm undecided about CC, but that is a topic for another time).  I infrequently use the other programs in CS3 but do find them occasionally useful, but not useful enough to pay for the entire CS6.

Can I run Creative Suite 3 and Photoshop CS6 on the same computer without issues?  Will Photoshop CS6 install over top the CS3 version, or will they exist peacefully as separately-installed software?  All of my software is legal, with no hacks.
Jul 05 13 06:46 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
DLH Photo
Posts: 330
Seattle, Washington, US


I'm sorry I can't say if your combination will work well. I do have Photoshop CS6 and Photoshop CC on the same SSD. Everything seems to be running fine but I just recently installed Photoshop CC so I have not done exhaustive testing.

You might ask Adobe if it is ok.
Jul 05 13 07:06 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
picturephotos
Posts: 521
Toronto, Ontario, Canada


DLH Photo wrote:
I'm sorry I can't say if your combination will work well. I do have Photoshop CS6 and Photoshop CC on the same SSD. Everything seems to be running fine but I just recently installed Photoshop CC so I have not done exhaustive testing.

You might ask Adobe if it is ok.

I was late in messaging Adobe today, so the question will have to wait until Monday.  Thanks for the feedback.

Jul 05 13 07:17 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ruben Vasquez
Posts: 3,115
Puyallup, Washington, US


I have CS3, CS4 and CS6 all installed on the same machine and Photoshop has no issues whatsoever. Bridge however does behave a little strange. Regardless of what version of Bridge you're running at the time, it'll try to open the image in the latest version of Photoshop you have installed. So if, for whatever reason, you want to open an image in CS3, you'll need to specify you want the image in Photoshop CS3 (i.e. right click>Open With>Photoshop CS3 - for PC).
Jul 05 13 08:05 pm  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Motordrive Photography
Posts: 2,778
Lodi, California, US


I don't know if this is exactly what you are asking, but the whole
Creative Suite needs to upgrade, not just Photoshop. It's a separate
deal to get just CS6 Photoshop.

For installing new Adobe programs, it doesn't overwrite the old one,
sometimes nice to have old one as backup if space is not an issue.
Jul 06 13 11:13 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Gary Melton
Posts: 6,391
Dallas, Texas, US


I have PS CS5 and PS CS6 running on the same PC...no problem...
Jul 06 13 11:29 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Ross Clark
Posts: 164
Mansfield, Ohio, US


I have CS2, CS4, and CS5 all running on one machine and never have trouble.  I have even had 2 and 5 up at the same time with no problem...
Jul 06 13 11:39 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply