login info join!
Forums > Photography Talk > Assign Bar code when tahing picture? Search   Reply
Photographer
Fun City Photo
Posts: 1,552
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany


I want to scan a bar code and this bar code shall become the name of the picture either after taking the picture or before taking it. Than by scanning the bar code or by typing the numeric string the picture should open after it is downloaded to the computer.
Any knowledge of how to?
Jul 12 13 03:30 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Valenten Photography
Posts: 265
Balikpapan, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia


On your camera, you can't.

On your computer, you can write a small program that rename files, and rename them all with barcode-related numeric values.

Valenten
http://www.valentenphotography.com
Jul 12 13 03:44 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Chris David Photography
Posts: 464
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia


Most barcode scanners will place the string of numbers it scans in. If you click on a document file name filed in Bridge or even a file browser to rename and scan the barcode it will put the number in place.
I know in Bridge when your renaming file names you can press tab to name the next or shift tab to rename the previous. So in practice you can select the filename rename option scan the barcode then press tab and scan the next barcode and the .jpg or raw extension will be kept.
Jul 12 13 04:22 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Fun City Photo
Posts: 1,552
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany


Chris David Photography wrote:
Most barcode scanners will place the string of numbers it scans in. If you click on a document file name filed in Bridge or even a file browser to rename and scan the barcode it will put the number in place.

That is true and I knew that but there is a way to do this before or after taking a picture direct in camera. This company does this but they did not tell me how.

http://eshots.com/photo-and-video-marketing-software/

Jul 12 13 04:28 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Chris David Photography
Posts: 464
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia


One of the past school/event photography companies I worked with used a software suite from a company called Timestone. Its more database driven handling product orders and packages. Was fairly pricey though.
Jul 12 13 04:51 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
David Cuerdon Photo
Posts: 202
Schaumburg, Illinois, US


The software still doesn't rename the photos "in camera".
They are shooting tethered to the computer, the bar code scanner is also plugged into the computer.
When the barcode scanner scans the barcode, it applies the name and anything else in the capture software on the computer.
The files are being renamed as they come into the computer not "in camera".
Jul 12 13 05:03 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Fun City Photo
Posts: 1,552
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany


Chris David Photography wrote:
One of the past school/event photography companies I worked with used a software suite from a company called Timestone.

Thank you very much! A step in one direction.  I read about it here:

http://www.timestonesoftware.com/

David Cuerdon Photo wrote:
The software still doesn't rename the photos "in camera".
They are shooting tethered to the computer, the bar code scanner is also plugged into the computer.

Yes you are right! Thanks for jumping in.

Jul 12 13 06:15 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Fun City Photo
Posts: 1,552
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany


Any more ideas?
Jul 12 13 10:23 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Robert Jewett
Posts: 2,457
al-Marsā, Tunis, Tunisia


Jul 13 13 04:01 am  Link  Quote 
Photographer
Fun City Photo
Posts: 1,552
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany


Robert Jewett wrote:
Some models of the 7D do this:

Thank you!
In the mean time I found out that almost all Nikon DSLRs  can do that.

http://www.foolography.com/products/barcode-edition/

Jul 13 13 06:22 am  Link  Quote 
  Search   Reply